Windows Search 4.0 for XP

Windows Search 4.0 has just released to the public, here are some of my first impressions. When downloading the software from Microsoft Website from the new Opera 9.5 , it shows it requires Silverlight to download the piece of software, so I have to switch to IE based software Maxthon to download the .exe file.

Windows Desktop Search 4.0 File Property

It takes a while to install the application. After which it displays a search bar at the bottom of the screen, as well as a button in the tray to pause indexing etc.

Search

And clicking in the text field will pop up a menu like this, unlike the big fat Google Desktop search bar which displays a huge truck in the middle of the screen.

PopUp

Previous version of the Windows Desktop Search didn’t do too much good as it slows down my computer too much sporadically, which is annoying.

The newer version of Windows Desktop Search works with  Office 2007, as the component indexing for Outlook and OneNote. The experience so far as I am using it is that I feel the searching speed is fast, comparable with that of Spotlight on my Leopard.

I am going to keep it around for a while until it slows down my computer again.

Meanwhile, you can check out some great Podcast at http://twit.tv and watch out  some recent episodes at http://thegeekgoddess.tv/

